Imagebearer’s Weblog

The Only Evangelism That Works: Be An Imagebearer

Our Community Needs Your Honesty and Help

Many times when God places some need on my heart it has to sit and stew and sometimes for years. One of the more recent ministries to materialize is the Out of the Box Youth Ministry in Downtown Hillsville. But another ministry has been in my heart and prayers for many years. A ministry to those addicted, not just to substances but addicted to anything that is harmful.

Take a look at this video and pray. Ask God if He would have you to be a part of a ministry to those who are hurting from addiction. You can e-mail, call, leave a message here, just get in touch with me. We will need music, hospitality, small group leaders and leaders in general. You do not have to be a member of 1st UMC Hillsville.

I envision finding the people God wants to be involved and starting in Early Spring but I need to know that you feel led to be involved.

Ronnie

December 16, 2009 Posted by | Celebrate Recovery, Uncategorized | 2 Comments

Bible Study Reimagined

This is a true investment, not just a purchase!

Ronnie

December 16, 2009 Posted by | Logos Bible Study Software, Uncategorized | Leave a comment

An old Christmas Time Classic

‘Twas The Night Before Jesus Came’

written by Unknown Author

‘Twas the night before Jesus came and all through the house
Not a creature was praying, not one in the house.
Their Bibles were lain on the shelf without care
In hopes that Jesus would not come there.

The children were dressing to crawl into bed.
Not once ever kneeling or bowing a head.
And Mom in her rocker with baby on her lap
Was watching the Late Show while I took a nap.

When out of the East there arose such a clatter.
I sprang to my feet to see what was the matter.
Away to the window I flew like a flash,
Tore open the shutters and threw up the sash!

When what to my wondering eyes should appear
But angels proclaiming that Jesus was here.
With a light like the sun sending forth a bright ray
I knew in a moment this must be THE DAY!

The light of His face made me cover my head
It was Jesus! returning just like He had said.
And though I possessed worldly wisdom and wealth,
I cried when I saw Him in spite of myself.

In the Book of Life which He held in His hand
Was written the name of every saved man.
He spoke not a word as He searched for my name;
When He said “it’s not here” my head hung in shame.

The people whose names had been written with love
He gathered to take to His Father above.
With those who were ready He rose without a sound.
While all the rest were left standing around.

I fell to my knees, but it was too late;
I had waited too long and thus sealed my fate.
I stood and I cried as they rose out of sight;
Oh, if only I had been ready tonight.

In the words of this poem the meaning is clear;
The coming of Jesus is drawing near.
There’s only one life and when comes the last call
We’ll find that the Bible was true after all!

December 16, 2009 Posted by | Uncategorized | 1 Comment

Logos 4 Home Page Bible Study

December 16, 2009 Posted by | Logos Bible Study Software, Uncategorized | Leave a comment

This Day In The Life of Your Pastor – December 15th, 2009

  1. For God is working in you, giving you the desire and the power to do what pleases him. http://read.ly/Phil2.13.NLT about 13 hours ago from API

  2. There is a path before each person that seems right,  but it ends in death. http://read.ly/Prov14.12.NLT about 13 hours ago from API

  3. In a recent survey 18% of all Christians say they read The Bible every day, while 23% said they do not read The Bible at all. about 14 hours ago from web

  4. You must get involved to have an impact. about 14 hours ago from web

  5. The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy; I have come that they may have life, and have it to the fu… http://read.ly/John10.10.NIV about 14 hours ago from API

  6. Christ calls His followers to be different, not weird, just different about 14 hours ago from web

  7. 2000 yrs have passed – only a few desire to travel the way that leads to life; traveling this road requires 1 to B different. Matt 7:13-14 about 14 hours ago from web

  8. Very sleepy, going to just rest this evening while Misty grocery shops about 15 hours ago from TwitterBerry

  9. Dinner with the family @ Libby Hill about 16 hours ago from TwitterBerry

  10. Relaxing before dinner about 18 hours ago from TwitterBerry

  11. Completed 7 miles, 925 pace about 19 hours ago from TwitterBerry

  12. Going for a run about 21 hours ago from TwitterBerry

  13. mailing $1754.00 to Holston Conference this morning 4 the Children of Sudan, thank you to all those who gave and prayed. $ is still coming N about 23 hours ago from web

  14. Health officials recall more than 800,000 doses of H1N1 vaccine after tests indicated they may not B potent enough 2 protect against virus. about 23 hours ago from web

  15. its a wrap party https://imagebearer.wordpress.com/2009/12/15/its-a-wrap-party/ about 24 hours ago from web

  16. working on message for OOTB tomorrow night, be there about 21 hours ago from web

  17. We will B wraping gifts @ OOTB 2morrow These gifts R 4 children N need. If U can bring tape & wrapping paper txt me. It’s a “Wrap Party” about 22 hours ago from web

  18. working on delivering gifts and children in need having a Christmas gift this year about 22 hours ago from web

  19. high of 56 degrees in Mt Airy today, hope to run after dropping Kyle @ Sylvan. These days of less daylight make it harder to train about 22 hours ago from web

  20. But God demonstrates his own love for us in this: While we were still sinners, Christ died for us (Romans 5:8) about 23 hours ago from web

  21. “Behold, I am coming soon! My reward is with me, and I will give to everyone according to what he has done” (Revelation 22:12) about 23 hours ago from web

  22. I am headed to the office for a half day. I missed my family working 14 plus hours on Monday and today I am going to spend time with them about 23 hours ago from web

  23. I can do everything through him who gives me strength. http://read.ly/Phil4.13.NIV about 24 hours ago from API

  24. Reading “Counseling for Seemingly Impossible Problems” A Biblical Perspective about 24 hours ago from TwitterBerry

  25. Nike says Tiger Woods Infidelity is a “minor blip” what is a major blip? 5:19 AM Dec 15th from web

  26. Myrtle Beach Marathon is 58 DAYS | 23 HRS | 18 MINS | 34 SECONDS 5:11 AM Dec 15th from web

  27. Warning Internet Scam: https://imagebearer.wordpress.com/2009/12/15/warningplease-read/ 5:11 AM Dec 15th from web

December 16, 2009 Posted by | Uncategorized | Leave a comment