Imagebearer’s Weblog

The Only Evangelism That Works: Be An Imagebearer

For those who want to be Strong

http://hundredpushups.com/

As most of you know I have been training again for a Marathon. I don’t even have one picked out yet but I know that I am aiming for one in November to February. I plan to do Myrtle Beach in February as that is one of my favorite places and I have run the Marathon there twice and the Half Marathon once, they do a great job with the race.

I am back to running and sometimes run/walking 6 miles a day, most days. Sometimes the busyness of life stands in the way of the mileage. However I am getting out on the road and running most days and I can already see a huge difference.

I was reading in Runners World the fact that a strong back, chest and abdomen is crucial to running more efficient and faster. I know this from past years when I was at my best running weight of 173lbs but those things have a way of slipping away from you. I was reading Faithengineer http://www.faithengineer.com/ this morning, (Mike Morris Blog) and he was talking about taking the 100 Push up Challenge. I took a look at the site and took the challenge myself. I was able to do 30 push ups, of course my arms were trembling when I finished but remarkably the first 20 were not so hard.

I know that several of you are planning to challenge me in the October 5K http://www.galaxparks-rec.com/fivektenkrun.asp in Galax. Tony Quessenberry does an outstanding with this local race also. I thought you might want to take the Push up Challenge to make your chances of beating me better in October. Maybe our friend Mike at Cornerstone will also take the 5K Challenge and get his church involved. I am going to make a monetary donation to the youth group of FUMC for every person from here that beats me.

Mike mentioned in his blog that as Christians we should take care of our bodies and that is Biblical. It is so easy to let ourselves go because we have so many things to do. Sometimes we pass up the best things in life for good things.

Blessings and Happy Running

Ronnie

August 6, 2008 Posted by | Uncategorized | 1 Comment