Imagebearer’s Weblog

The Only Evangelism That Works: Be An Imagebearer

Read the Bible Through This Year 2009

  I’ve been telling people for years that every Christian worth his  (or her) salt ought to read the Bible from cover to cover every year.”

J.I. Packer

Misty and I have made the commitment to read the Bible through from cover to cover this New Year, 2009. I would like to invite you along for this Awesome Journey that we are about to take together. I am including a couple of tools here so that you can easily do your daily 15 minute (JUST 15 Minutes A Day) reading either online or you can print out the reading plan and use it with your own Bible. I will do a little of both.

This could be a great way for our church members and I to have great conversations around what God is teaching us daily through His Word.

Ronnie

one-year-bible

Go here for the One Year Bible NLT Online http://www.oneyearbibleonline.com/

You can add this to your Facebook Page for easy use.

There is also a mobile version if you have the technology to do that. I wish I did but not yet.

Here is the site for the One Year Bible Blog that looks great http://www.oneyearbibleblog.com/

Let us know if you are going to be reading through with us. Really, I think it is the best investment you will ever make.

December 31, 2008 Posted by | Uncategorized | Leave a comment

We were blessed to see the baby on Monday

On Monday Misty and I along with Kyle, Samuel and mine and Misty’s moms were blessed to see little baby Collins through the technology of a sonogram. We were able to see right off that he is a boy. At one point it appeared that he was waving to us, his little hand was held above his head and making a very distinctive waving motion. Either way, we see it as God’s affirmation once again that He is in charge.

With Samuel we were further along in the pregnancy when his sonogram was done because he looked like his sonogram when he was born and this little one was more skeletal at this stage. The due date we are now being given is May 30, 2009 but I still say he will be born on May 25th. Stay tuned to see if I am right. By the way Stephanie, has God told you the date? Stephanie is our resident Prophet who first told us we were pregnant this time.

We are still unsettled on a name. Wayne will be his middle name after Misty’s dad. Samuel is named after my dad. It will either be Joseph, Judah, or Emanuel. I also like the name Israel but Misty is not keen on naming him that. We are reading the Bible through in 2009 and the Genesis readings may help to secure our decision.

Either way, we are blessed. The baby is healthy and Misty is doing great.

Ronnie

December 31, 2008 Posted by | Uncategorized | Leave a comment

American Electric Power and more Rate Increases

My most recent power bill has increased more than $100.00 form the previous month. Amazing, in a time when people are losing their jobs by the thousands every day, people are still trying to break the bank.

How long will America stand for Corporate Executives making multi – million dollar salaries with benefits and perks every year while the majority struggle to pay their bills each week?

http://www.wset.com/news/stories/1208/576803.html 

appalachian-power

Across Virginia – Appalachian Power customers, your rates are changing once again. The Virginia State Corporation Commission approved the new rate Wednesday. It goes into effect immediately. Here’s a look at the changes.

 

For the average customer using a-thousand kilowatts, their October bill would’ve been around $77.  After the interim increase, it would’ve been around $94. Wednesday’s adjusted rate will bring that bill down to $90.53.

 

You’ll get a credit for the difference on your bill in the next two months.

http://www.appalachianpower.com/

December 31, 2008 Posted by | Uncategorized | Leave a comment

My toothpick habit…

toothpicks

Laura sent me a txt yesterday and said she discovered in her sociology class that a man with a toothpick in his mouth is 10% more attractive. That is why Misty wanted to be my wife, no doubt.

I knew there was a good reason for my toothpick habit. It is a habit I have had for as long as I can remember. My grandfather Collins always had one, my dad always had one and I always seem to have one. If you haven’t noticed the caricature drawing of me here on the blog has a toothpick behind the ear. That is where I often carry spares.

I like round ones especially the ones from Cracker Barrel, they don’t splinter as bad as others. I don’t like flat toothpicks, flavored toothpicks or plastic toothpicks.

Many people have given me gifts of toothpick holders through the years. I have toothpick holders to carry in my pocket and toothpick dispensers.

It is just a habit, I don’t know why but you will seldom find me without a toothpick.

Ronnie

toothpick-man

December 31, 2008 Posted by | Uncategorized | Leave a comment