Imagebearer’s Weblog

The Only Evangelism That Works: Be An Imagebearer

Day 12 of 40 Day Fast 2012

If you ever wondered if your pastor wanted to quit something, I have wanted to quit the fast today. Not because I am hungry, not because I haven’t already witnessed God at work, simply because of my desire to eat. I went out to dinner with the family tonight and that wasn’t a struggle really, it is just the lust for food in general.

I walked 3 miles today and felt great doing so.

I’m not quitting, at least not yet. I just told Satan, “Man does not live on bread alone but on every word that comes from the mouth of our God.” I have no intention of allowing him to win this battle. I am learning lessons that are life changing. I am hearing from God in ways that are rare. It is sweet fellowship.

It has been a difficult day in the temptation but for today, I won.

Ronnie

January 12, 2012 - Posted by | Uncategorized

3 Comments »

  1. Ronnie I pray for you. I pray that you will not focus on how hard the task is but on how righteous the cause is. Your quest and your sharing is touching lives that you may never hear of until after you face God and hear those wonderful words, “well done my faithful servant”. Only then will you know the real impact of your 40 days.

    I pray you will keep your eyes on the goal and persevere until the race is won. Like Paul you will overcome the chains of Satan to spread God’s blessing to a lost and hurting world. You and the people you are reaching will never be the same.

    God Bless and Keep You.

    Comment by Jim Scott, Pastor for the Cripple Creek Circuit | January 12, 2012 | Reply

  2. Remain steadfast and firmly planted my friend. Satan wants to keep us passive to keep us from making decisions for God. ( Joyce Meyer) We already have the VICTORY-we just have to believe it. I know you do and I am believing for you and with you. I remember when you did the first 40 days fast- you became so much like Jesus that I fell apart and did my first 7 day fast. Do you remember that? You were so tenderhearted and gentle. I heard that, again, in your voice last Sunday. Do you remember Chase saying that you “smelled like Jesus?” ( I think it was Chase…at any rate- it was a child.) Think on these things when you are tempted and then submit to God as many times as it takes. God has already won this for you. Our speaker at Resurrection will keep you full. I’m in constant prayer for you. God has you covered.

    Comment by godw1nz | January 12, 2012 | Reply

  3. I couldn’t agree more with the two previous comments. It’s truly humbling to have pastors so willing to share they are “human” and have struggles like the rest of us, even though it’s just a struggle with food it’s a struggle to hold to your committment to do something for God. Steve originally didn’t want me to share with you that we’re trying to read the Bible through this year because he said he didn’t want to have to come up with lame excuses if we didn’t succeed. But he decided nope, this was his goal and he told me to go ahead and share with you and gave you permission to check in on us and hold us to it. You truly are inspiring others and that’s what you’re called to do, be a disciple. We are all praying for you, we know God will see you through.

    Comment by Judy M | January 13, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

