Imagebearer’s Weblog

The Only Evangelism That Works: Be An Imagebearer

Three Minute Thursday’s – What are they all about?

If you don’t know me, let me explain a little about myself and how I teach the Bible. I was not raised in church and started to go on my own when I was a teen but not seriously until I was 21 years old. I am thankful for the teaching that I received from the Sunday School teachers to the preachers that I was blessed to sit under.

I have spent years in Southern Baptist Churches, a few years in a Non-Denominational church, and now several years in The United Methodist Church. I graduated from Liberty University with my undergrad degree and from Gordon Conwell Theological Seminary with my Masters degree. Yet, some of the best teaching I have ever sat under is from a Presbyterian Pastor.

I have learned that no one has the corner on the market. I have learned that there are good and bad Bible teachers in every setting, every denomination, every church. I have learned that a lot of people allow themselves to just be led by a teacher or preacher and never question what they are taught and this is precisely why I teach the Bible as I do.

We are not called as Christians to be disciples of any preacher, Sunday school teacher, or commentator. We are called to be disciples of Jesus Christ and Him alone. Now, you can learn from me and many others but you can also check the Bible out for yourself. I know people find it hard to understand but while I agree that it can be hard to understand, most people haven’t tried very hard. Most Christians, most people I know have never read the Bible through from beginning to end and that boggles my mind. Many pastors have never read it through and there is absolutely no excuse for this. If you are a pastor and have been for some period of time and you have never read the Bible through then you should stop teaching in my opinion, no excuses. We have it on DVD, CD, Cassette, Ipod, Internet, Kindle, you name it and we have it, take the time to get it inside of you.

This is why there are “Three Minute Thursdays”, many people come with honest questions and they are looking for what God has to say, not what I have to say. If you ever disagree with what I say while teaching, please let me know BUT show me biblically where I am in error and I will correct it if I am wrong. Don’t come to me with your cultural likes and dislikes and try to convince me that God thinks like you and I do. Come to me with His Words and I will be convinced.

Got a question that has been burning at your heart? Ask it and I will do my best to answer from the Bible.

Blessings

Ronnie

November 23, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized

1 Comment »

  1. I like it a lot, it is a great idea!rp

    Comment by Rick | November 25, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

